The Heart

July 20, 2009 3:25 pm

The Heart

The heart has four chambers. The two upper chambers are called the left and right atria, and the two lower are called the left and right ventricles. The left atrium is connected to the left ventricle with a valve, and the right atrium is connected to the right ventricle with a valve. Together, the four chambers circulate oxygen-depleted blood to the lungs through the pulmonary artery and oxygen-rich blood to the rest of the body through the aorta. In heart failure, one or both of the ventricles loses pumping power, resulting in reduced blood circulation and fluid buildup in the body’s tissues.


Source URL:

Disclaimer Statements: Statements and opinions expressed on this Web site are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the publishers or advertisers. The information provided on this Web site should not be construed as medical instruction. Consult appropriate health-care professionals before taking action based on this information.