The Heart

Text Size:

The Heart

The heart has four chambers. The two upper chambers are called the left and right atria, and the two lower are called the left and right ventricles. The left atrium is connected to the left ventricle with a valve, and the right atrium is connected to the right ventricle with a valve. Together, the four chambers circulate oxygen-depleted blood to the lungs through the pulmonary artery and oxygen-rich blood to the rest of the body through the aorta. In heart failure, one or both of the ventricles loses pumping power, resulting in reduced blood circulation and fluid buildup in the body’s tissues.

Originally Published July 20, 2009


The latest delivered straight to your inbox

Learn More


Subscribe to Stay Informed

Sign up for Free

Get the latest diabetes news and a free gift!

Learn More

Save Your Favorites

Save This Article