Celebrate National Blueberry Picking Day


Advertisement

Today is National Blueberry Picking Day, dedicated to the celebration of these sweet and juicy superfoods.

Native to North America, these fruits have been eaten by people for hundreds of years. Rich in health-promoting phytonutrients, blueberries boast benefits ranging from reducing blood pressure and cholesterol to preserving brain function to keeping cancer at bay.

To learn more about what blueberries can do for you, check out one of the following blog entries:

• A Berry Good Month: Berries and Diabetes[1]
• More Standout Foods Take Center Stage[2]
• Food Group Superfoods: Fruit (Part 3)[3]
• Boosting Brain Health: What Can Food Do?[4]

Feeling inspired to incorporate more blueberries into your diet? Try one of the following delicious recipes!

• Blueberry Bliss[5]
• Banana-Berry Smoothie[6]
• Blueberry Orange Muffins[7]
• No-Bake Blueberry Cheesecake[8]

Looking for a place to pick blueberries in your area? Check out PickYourOwn.org[9] for directions to a farm near you!

This blog entry was written by Senior Digital Editor Diane Fennell.

Endnotes:
  1. A Berry Good Month: Berries and Diabetes: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/berry-good-month-berries-diabetes/
  2. More Standout Foods Take Center Stage: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/more-standout-foods-take-center-stage/
  3. Food Group Superfoods: Fruit (Part 3): http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/food-group-superfoods-fruit-part-3/
  4. Boosting Brain Health: What Can Food Do?: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/boosting-brain-health-what-can-food-do/
  5. Blueberry Bliss: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/recipes/desserts-sweets/blueberry-bliss/
  6. Banana-Berry Smoothie: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/recipes/beverages/banana-berry-smoothie/
  7. Blueberry Orange Muffins: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/recipes/breakfast/blueberry-orange-muffins/
  8. No-Bake Blueberry Cheesecake: http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/recipes/desserts-sweets/no-bake-blueberry-cheesecake/
  9. PickYourOwn.org: http://www.pickyourown.org/

Source URL: https://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/celebrate-national-blueberry-picking-day/


Web Team: The Diabetes Self-Management Web Team is made up of various editorial staff members.

Disclaimer of Medical Advice: You understand that the blog posts and comments to such blog posts (whether posted by us, our agents or bloggers, or by users) do not constitute medical advice or recommendation of any kind, and you should not rely on any information contained in such posts or comments to replace consultations with your qualified health care professionals to meet your individual needs. The opinions and other information contained in the blog posts and comments do not reflect the opinions or positions of the Site Proprietor.