To print: Select File and then Print from your browser's menu
Diabetes and Celiac Disease (Part 3)
September 8, 2008
This week, I’ll wrap up my three-part series on celiac. So far, we’ve looked at symptoms of celiac, how it’s diagnosed, and the beginnings of what the gluten-free diet consists of. I’d like to share some more information on the gluten-free diet, since this is really the crux of the treatment of celiac, as well as some tips for managing both diabetes and celiac at the same time.
I’m also curious to know how many of you have celiac. If you have celiac and you have some helpful hints or tips that could help others, please share!
Gluten-Free Diet Tips
I attended a session at AADE (the diabetes educators’ conference) back in August on celiac, given by a dietitian who has both diabetes and celiac (and who knows her stuff, I might add!). Something she mentioned was new to me: A “safe” amount of gluten is about 50 milligrams (mg) of gluten per day. That may not mean anything to you. However, to keep things in context, a one-ounce slice of wheat bread contains about 4,800 mg of gluten. So, if you want to splurge on wheat bread yet still be safe, you could eat a 100th of a slice of bread!
My point is that while it’s impossible to totally avoid gluten altogether, it’s important to do your best to avoid gluten-containing foods as much as possible if you have celiac disease. Some people may think, “I feel fine—what can it hurt to eat a slice of bread/a small dish of pasta/a piece of pizza, etc.?” Herein lies the danger. You may feel great, but when you have celiac, even very small amounts of gluten can wreak havoc on your intestinal villi, causing damage.
We’ve already reviewed some of the complications associated with untreated or poorly treated celiac. This list of complications, unfortunately, includes a higher risk of cancer. So, don’t be lulled into a false sense of security. If you have celiac disease, stay as gluten-free as possible!
About 90% of processed foods contain gluten, so become an astute label reader. Watch out for these ingredients, as they often indicate that the food contains gluten:
Distilled vinegar is okay to use, but malt vinegar isn’t. That means, too, that malt beverages (e.g., beer) are not okay. Good news—Redbridge beer is gluten-free. Oatmeal may be safe, but you need to be sure that it is not contaminated with other grains.
There are a lot of intricacies to the gluten-free diet, and they’re beyond the scope of this post, so it’s a good idea to work with a dietitian who ideally has some experience with celiac and to read as much as you can about it.
Celiac and Diabetes
There are also many food companies that specialize in gluten-free products. The above Web sites will give you names and links to these companies. And don’t forget to check out your local grocery store/health food store for gluten-free products, too.
Disclaimer of Medical Advice:You understand that the blogs posts and comments to such blog posts (whether posted by us, our agents, bloggers, or by users) do not constitute medical advice or recommendation of any kind and you should not rely on any information contained on such posts or comments to replace consultations with your qualified health care professionals to meet your individual needs. The opinions and other information contained in the blog posts and comments do not reflect the opinions or positions of the Site Proprietor.